A Hoard of Hearthstone Videos

As I return to playing tabletop roleplaying games more often, I have also been experimenting with creating videos about Hearthstone. In recent weeks, I’ve posted four different videos to my YouTube channel. I may start to stream while playing (if I ever get a computer worth a damn), but for now I’m tinkering with how to best present content. The first of the videos is most certainly influenced by my time playing RPGs.

Opening 126 Old Gods Packs

Since the newest expansion, Whispers of the Old Gods, was announced, I started to save gold so I could spend it all on new packs when they were available. I also purchased the 50-pack preorder, which resulted in 126 packs of Old Gods. I recorded the pack opening but I wanted to add a fun wrinkle for myself. Each pack of cards contains five cards, and I decided to roll a d6 to determine the cards that I would reveal first. If I rolled a six, then I would reroll until I got a result that was between 1-5. I recorded a second video with my cellphone of the dice being rolled and synced them so they match up in the video. My phone was resting on a stack of RPG manuals while filming the dice tray. The low-tech approach worked, and I opened a few Golden Legendary cards along the way!

Control C’Thun Paladin

After achieving 500 wins with the Mage hero, the next closest hero to the magical 500 wins mark is Paladin. I built a Control C’Thun Paladin deck after opening a Golden “Jedi” Ragnaros in the pack opening featured above. The deck is fun to play and runs multiple combinations that can clear the opponent’s board. The games tend to run long so I just selected one against a Warrior to feature in a video.

Multiclass!

The current Tavern Brawl in Hearthstone allows for cards from two heroes to appears in the same deck. I immediately enjoyed this idea as it’s been something I’ve been thinking about for some time. Hearthstone features nine classes: Druid, Hunter, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, and Warrior. Typically, each hero can only use cards from their class and the pool of neutral cards. In this week’s Tavern Brawl, the player selects their hero and – during Turn 1 – selects one other hero to draw cards from during the game. So it’s just like multiclassing in games like D&D! I decided to play Hunter and seek out Druid as a second hero, since there is natural synergy between the two. This resulted in some interesting games with combinations that cannot be found otherwise in the game.

Adventures in Face Huntering

After toiling with the Control C’Thun Paladin deck above, I wanted to shift gears and play a fast, aggressive deck. And nothing satisfies the need for playing games quick more than Face Hunter. The deck is called “Face” Hunter because you pretty much ignore whatever minions the opponent plays and direct as much damage as quickly as possible to the opponent’s hero (or face). I am still learning how to best pilot this type of deck, and some of the mistakes I make below are downright foolish. But I’m able to play 3-4 games as Face Hunter in about the time it takes me to play one game of C’Thun Paladin. This is really useful as the majority of my time playing Hearthstone (when not recording games) is while walking on the treadmill each morning before work. Greetings, Traveler!

I’m happy to receive feedback about the videos and playing abilities (or lack thereof), so leave a comment if you’d like to see more of the same or something different going forward.

About The Id DM

The Id DM is a psychologist during the weekdays. He DMs for a group of fairly loyal and responsible PCs every other Friday night. In the approximate 330 hours between sessions, he is likely anxious about how to ensure the next game he runs doesn't suck.
This entry was posted in Hearthstone and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

