The Thrill of Victory

This week, I was bestowed the wonderful honor of being named RPG Site of The Year through a contest hosted by Stuffer Shack. It is truly a wonderful surprise, and I want to thank everyone that voted for me last week to make it into the Finals. I also wanted to thank Tourq Stevens from Stuffer Shack for organizing and hosting the contest. His efforts led to the acknowledgement of many great blogs and podcasts. Even though the contest is a competition, the event fosters a great sense of community and brought me into contact with other websites that I did not know about previously. The fact that the judges voted for me as the RPG Site of The Year is truly an honor, and I thank them for that recognition.

Writing a blog is an extremely personal endeavor, but I have benefited immensely from the many talented individuals in the online RPG community. I also need to acknowledge the role of the players (and my DM) in my home campaigns over the last year; they have been exceedingly accommodating with allowing me to discuss our gaming sessions in such a public forum. Some of my favorite moments in the short life of the blog is interactions with my players in Comments or real-life as a result of something I wrote posted in an article. I have also enjoyed the privilege of interviewing numerous members in the gaming community, and the interviews will certainly remain a feature on the site.

Before going any further, I want to express congratulations to the other finalists in Stuffer Shack’s Site of The Year Contest: Gnome Stew, Dungeon’s Master, G*M*S Magizine and Nearly Enough Dice. Everyone should click through those sites for wonderful RPG content. And take some time to explore the over 30 blogs nominated for the Site of The Year Contest.

More Sponsors Than A District 1 Tribute

The honor of the title, RPG Site of The Year, is partnered with a list of spectacular prizes. I definitely want to express my gratitude for the sponsors of Stuffer’s Shack contest. Q-Workshop provided five sets of their amazing dice, which can be conveniently held in the dice bag provided by Dragon Chow. Long-time readers of the blog will recall that I interviewed the creator of Dragon Chow, Lindsay Peters, last year. And I also reviewed the custom Iddy the Lich dice bag she created for me.

Stuffer Shack contributed a variety of counters, markers and miniatures to the prize pool. I highly recommend the mount miniatures; we bought some last year and they have been quite useful in our home games. Roving Band of Misfits provided an amazing dice tower to add 10,000% more cool to rolling dice. They also once welcomed me onto their podcast, and they host the wonderful Game Night Blog Carnival. Chaotic Shiny provided a City Builder Generator Pack, which is just one of the many content generators for DMs to use to push past writer’s block and brainstorm new ideas. The tools available at Chaotic Shiny are fantastic, and I really need to use them more as my ability to create campaign information on the fly is suspect!

DriveThruRPG provided a gift certificate to their amazing online store of digital roleplaying game content for a wide variety of gaming systems. Void Star provided two books to their RPG system, FATE; I have yet to play FATE but I am quite eager to dive into the books and learn the game. Kobold Quarterly contributed a rare print-edition of Red Eye of Azathoth for Call of Cthulhu in addition to a one-year subscription to their brilliant magazine and a copy of Complete KOBOLD Guide to Game Design; I cannot wait to consume the content that lies within!

Thank you to Stuffer Shack and each one of the sponsors! And thank you to everyone who has supported my site during the past year!

About The Id DM

The Id DM is a psychologist during the weekdays. He DMs for a group of fairly loyal and responsible PCs every other Friday night. In the approximate 330 hours between sessions, he is likely anxious about how to ensure the next game he runs doesn't suck.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Thrill of Victory

  1. OnlineDM says:

    Congratulations! That’s fantastic!

  2. Chris says:

    Congratulations, sir. You certainly deserve it.

  3. Good job. Site well-done!

  4. Congratulations on your victory!

  5. CptPhoenix says:

    A well deserved victory! Good job.

  6. Pingback: 99 Problems But a Lich Ain’t One (Hundred) | The Id DM

Leave a Reply

