Happy Birthday To Me

I have been waiting to announce a new project, which I am quite excited about. For a few reasons, I have held off on the announcement until today. All things have finally come together and today is also my birthday, so the timing works out very well indeed. Over a month ago, I was approached by Thadeous from This is My Game (www.myrpgame.com)

He inquired if I would be interested in writing a regular column for his site. After some discussion about a theme, we decided that I would write a detailed description of a monster that could be used in your Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition game. The monster would feature a detailed background, lore, flavor text and a complete Stat Block. Every month, a new monster will be available on This is My Game for you to lift and set in your campaign world.

The title of the column is No Assembly Required; I know firsthand how challenging creating new content and plotlines can be for DMs, so I have attempted to provide as much information as possible so the monster is easily stealable for use in a campaign. I commissioned Grant Gould (www.grantgould.com), who provided the design for Iddy the Lich, to create the logo above for the column. In addition, he is providing an illustration of each month’s monster, so any DM can use that image in their game. His image for the first monster is below.

The first monster in the No Assembly Required series is Esau, Exarch of Tharzidun.

Please visit This is My Game for a wealth of details on Esau, including the development of the monster and his origin, lore, tactics, flavor text and Stat Block. And return to This is My Game each month for a new monster. Please leave Comments here or at This is My Game about the monsters presented. I hope you enjoy the new article series. And special thanks to Thadeous for asking me to contribute to his site!

About The Id DM

The Id DM is a psychologist during the weekdays. He DMs for a group of fairly loyal and responsible PCs every other Friday night. In the approximate 330 hours between sessions, he is likely anxious about how to ensure the next game he runs doesn't suck.
This entry was posted in No Assembly Required and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday To Me

  1. Kilsek says:

    Happy B-day and Grats! More monsters are always good, and gorgeous art is a welcome bonus. Love the This is My Game site, too, I visit often – great stuff!

    • The Id DM says:

      Thanks for the birthday greeting. I replied to your post over at This is My Game. I appreciate the feedback, and hope you find the upcoming monsters interesting as well. I can only take credit for hiring Grant for the job; his art is awesome.

Leave a Reply

