Iddy Approved: Dragon Chow Dice Bag

I’m introducing another new segment of the blog, which is titled Iddy Approved. These are products that I’ve either purchased from a vendor, or a free tool that I have used often in my role as a DM or player during a campaign. The first product to be reviewed in this series will be the new dice bag I purchased from Dragon Chow Dice Bags.

Long time readers of this site may remember my interview with the owner of Dragon Chow Dice Bags, Lyndsay Peters. In the interview, Lyndsay discussed how she developed the idea and started the business:

I started making them because I was really tired of going to the gaming store and only finding dice bags that would tip over and had a fabric selection that I just didn’t find appealing. I know gamers like to personalize things, and I knew I could make something to serve that interest. This is why I also do custom orders. I just love it when I get a custom order bang on. There’s nothing better than knowing there’s a happy geek in the world because of you.

When thinking about buying a dice bag from Dragon Chow, I inquired if I could get a bag with Iddy the Lich, my blog’s mascot, on the fabric for the bag. She told me it was certainly possible and she worked up a few options for me. The final product is exactly what I wanted, and it forced my old dice bag to retreat and weep tears of despair.

The Dragon Chow Dice Bag is seven D&D books high.

Below, I review specific details about the bag and why it’s something that you would be proud to own.

The first thing I want to mention is the simple space that is available in the Dragon Chow bag. I have included a picture of the seven sets of dice that I now have at my disposal. Keen observers will notice that four d10s are missing from the photo; I left them at our gaming host’s house and I will not get them back until later this week. (I really thought about holding off on taking the picture until the weekend, but I pushed through that nagging attention to detail!).

Weapons of Choice.

Since crossing into the Paragon Tier, both as a DM and a player, I noticed the increase in dice that are needed for D&D 4th Edition, which is the only game I play at the moment. For instance, my Rogue can deal 6d8 on some attacks if I have combat advantage and can utilize Sneak Attack. It started to bother me that I had to roll four dice, stop to calculate, and then roll two more dice and add the modifier to the damage total. I prefer to roll the six dice simultaneously and then calculate. However, my old dice bag was already filled to absolute capacity. I could not fit any more dice into the bag, and thus I didn’t buy additional dice to reach my dream of single-roll damage results. I have included a picture of the seven sets of dice above and how they fit into my previous dice bag below.

Wimpy Bag feels wimpy.

Before I rip apart my old dice bag, I want to make it clear that I really enjoyed this bag when I first bought it a couple of years ago. It has a nice felt exterior and a satin-ish internal barrier that keep the dice feeling nice and cozy. However, you can see that it is already full from the four sets of dice, and three sets are left out in the cold. Also notice that the bag needs to be tied up or else the dice inside will spill out onto the table. I will discuss this in more detail below, but it is another feature of the Dragon Chow bags that is great for your gaming needs.

Now, take a look at the Dragon Chow Dice Bag. The first thing you will see is that all of the dice are in the bag. You will also notice that the bag is standing tall, and the bag will continue to stand tall even if the ties were not pulled tight. In my interview with Lyndsay, she stated:

One of a kind dice bag for The Id DM.

They’re dice bags with a flat bottom that are also totally reversible – a double benefit as you get two fabric designs and there are two seams keeping your dice safe. Your dice aren’t as likely to tip over on the table while you’re gaming because of the design.

Even untied, the bag stands tall and does not tip over unless the lout next to you gets intoxicated and starts lumbering around angrily because he failed yet another saving throw. You can be comfortable knowing that your dice are not going to be spilled all over the table if you step away for a few moments to attend to other business. Best of all, there is still plenty of room even with all seven sets of dice inside the bag. Take a look at the following glorious top-down photo.

When you look into the abyss, the abyss also looks into you.

You could easily fit another seven sets of dice in the bag with room to spare, which is dangerous because it forces you to confront the question, “How many dice are too many dice?” I’ve yet to find an answer that results in me feeling content with the number of dice that I own. That is the one of the few bits of caution I have for someone thinking about buying a Dragon Chow Dice Bag!

The other is a very small concern about the potential for wear and tear on the fabric. I brought my Iddy the Lich Dragon Chow Dice Bag to my game last weekend and Iddy was passed around throughout the night. He stood up tall and proud during the gaming session and everyone wanted to get a closer look at him. I could see the fabric becoming a bit worn-down over the course of many months and years of fondling, but the product is constructed very well. I have not noted any loose seams or other flaws in the product. The bag is quite durable, but just know that if you bring a Dragon Chow Dice Bag to your game, everyone at the table is going to want to get their grubby little paws on it!

Need more convincing? Don’t just take my word for it! I’m not the only one to post a glowing review of a Dragon Chow Dice Bag. It’s a great product and would be a fine addition to your gaming arsenal.

About The Id DM

The Id DM is a psychologist during the weekdays. He DMs for a group of fairly loyal and responsible PCs every other Friday night. In the approximate 330 hours between sessions, he is likely anxious about how to ensure the next game he runs doesn't suck.
This entry was posted in Iddy Approved and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Iddy Approved: Dragon Chow Dice Bag

  1. Jeff M says:

    That’s a really nice bag. It’s also cool that you have your logo on your dice bag.

    I have the ‘wimpy’ bag that you have, or one very close. I put my mini in there. Otherwise, I use the traditional Crown Royal bag, which does indeed tend to have dice spill out of it.

    Nice review, cool dice and bag.

    • The Id DM says:

      Jeff, yes, I’m very happy with how it turned out. I exchanged emails with Lyndsay to finalize the design and fabric choices. One of the players in the campaign I play in has a Crown Royal bag for his dice (I think). That seems to be a popular choice as well.

      I get to unleash my new dice tonight as DM. Good times!

  2. Jeff Gupton says:

    I like that she can do this, I plan on getting some for my playtesters with the new logo on them as a way of saying “Thanks!” for their tireless efforts of trashing my adventures so I sell a decent product. (so help them out to get a new dice bag by picking up one (or more) of my adventures! sorry, shameless plug)

    • @TheIdDM says:

      Great idea on using the bags as a gift to playtesters. I could take individual photos of the minis I painted for some of my players and then get those images on a fabric for an individualized dice bag. But that will make me much less likely to kill off their characters! ;-)

  3. boccobsblog says:

    That is amazing. Jealous.

  4. The Id DM says:

    Jeff,

    That is quite the interesting possibility!

    “I jump into the pit of lava.”

    “You’re sure? It’s a 100-foot drop into a pool of burning lava.”

    “Totally sure. I’m thinking there is treasure under the lava.”

    “Okay, you take 58 points of damage from the fall, 23 points of fire damage and ongoing 10 fire damage.”

    “Damn. That kills me. Can I have a new bag now?”

    ” . . . “

    • Sam G says:

      i definitely think that could be a funny truth… and i see that happening in my group, sadly i haven’t quite gotten a job or over being a nice dm… but i am working on it, MANIACAL LAUGH!

  5. Pingback: Iddy Approved: Sidekick Quests | The Id DM

  6. Pingback: The Thrill of Victory | The Id DM

Leave a Reply

