Allow Myself to Introduce . . . Myself

Hello,

Thank you for seeking out/stumbling upon this site.  I am looking forward to writing about my experiences with Dungeons & Dragons, 4th Edition (D&D 4e). The majority of posts will focus on the task of running the game as the Dungeon Master (DM), although I will discuss my experiences as a player character (PC) on occasion. 

I started playing D&D 4e back in the summer of 2009. Before that, I hadn’t played D&D in 15-20 years. I’m now 34, and don’t have nearly the amount of free time on my hands as I did when I was a teenager! This results in me having to do what I can in a short amount of time to get ready for each night that I DM. If you’d like to know more details about me (or why I chose the name, The Id DM, please check out the appropriately named About Me page.

If I can offer only one piece of advice in this first post, then here it is – All PCs should try to DM a few sessions, and all DMs should play a few sessions as a PC.

I played 4e for months before I tried to create and run an adventure, and I continue to play as a PC on the weeks when I am not DMing a separate campaign.  The knowledge and perspective gained from functioning on both sides of the DM screen have increased my enjoyment while playing and DMing.

I’ll elaborate on this and many other topics in the future. I look forward to receiving feedback and interacting with other DMs and PCs out there.

About The Id DM

The Id DM is a psychologist during the weekdays. He DMs for a group of fairly loyal and responsible PCs every other Friday night. In the approximate 330 hours between sessions, he is likely anxious about how to ensure the next game he runs doesn't suck.
This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Allow Myself to Introduce . . . Myself

  1. dldzioba says:

    Well it’s good to see I’m not alone. Hello. I just started my second blog here on wordpress, RPG Lady, to post about making the transition from being a player to being a DM. I agree that it is important to see it from both sides of the table, I’ve had glimpses, I am dating one of our veteran DMs and very close friends with the two others in our group who run games. They do put in a ton of work to make these games as fun as they are.

    I’ll have to keep an eye out for this blog. I’ve never played 4e.

  2. The Id DM says:

    I’ve had a great time with 4e, although I skipped over 3 and 3.5. I should have at least one new post this weekend. I’m still getting the site set up, although now I have my sweet Lich Lord ruling over everything! (Thanks, Grant!)

  3. boccobsblog says:

    Welcome to the scene. Your blog looks amazing and your latest post is detailed and interesting. While I don’t play 4e, I did greatly enjoy listening to the PA crew (and Wil Wheaton) as they learned the rules. Great site!

  4. Grant Gould says:

    The blog is awesome, Mike!
    Hey, just a random idea – You should start up a corresponding Facebook fan page, too, and have it link to updates and such. Just to help further spread the nerdy word! :)

Leave a Reply

